A LONG HISTORY OF BEER
The Hand & Heart started its commercial life in 1866 as a brewery. The building was originally comprised of a Georgian House with stables to the back and a cave below. The beers were brewed in the converted stables and dropped through a hole carved out of the ceiling of the cave for storage. Soon after, the Victorian shop front was added and it started to retail beer as a public house. In the early 60’s, the roof terrace was replaced by a glass conservatory. And in the 80’s a huge amount of neon lighting was installed (ahh! the 80’s).
After trading for many years, in 2004 the pub was closed and left almost derelict. Then in 2008 the building was finally bought by Dawn Underdown, a publican and restauranteur with many years experience of turning unloved pubs into buzzing locals. Dawn and her family spent the next six months fully renovating the pub, removing all sins of the 80’s and sourcing reclaimed antique furnishings to restore the pub to its former glory. Over the next few years a Victorian dining room - with a real wood fire - and a sheltered, green, smoking terrace were added.
These days the Hand and Heart serves as a dependable haven for locals and tourists alike, always offering the best variety of locally sourced beers and British fare.